Part 2: Geography

Section 8: Counties

The state of North Dakota is divided into 53 counties. The purpose of counties is to help the state government carry out its duties. Each county includes a town with a courthouse containing offices of the county government. This town is called the county seat.Town having county offices Examples of county officials include sheriff, treasurer, and clerk of court.

The county having the most land area is McKenzie County in western North Dakota. The county with the least land is Eddy County in central North Dakota.

Cass County in eastern North Dakota has the highest population.  Slope County, near the Montana border, has the fewest people.

The counties having the largest cities are also the most populated counties.

North Dakota Counties

Figure 46.  North Dakota Counties. North Dakota is divided into 53 counties. (SHSND-ND Studies)