Part 2: National and State Government

Section 9: The Three Branches of North Dakota Government

The government of North Dakota, like the government of the United States, is divided into three branches—legislative, executive, and judicial. The legislative branch makes the laws, the executive branch makes sure the laws are carried out, and the judicial branch decides what people’s rights are according to the law.