Section 1: Introduction

In 1861, the United States Congress passed a bill that formed Dakota Territory. Two days before his presidential term was over, President James Buchanan signed the bill, which placed the present-day states of North Dakota, South Dakota, most of Montana, and most of Wyoming into Dakota Territory.

Early North Dakota Homestead

Early North Dakota Homestead. (Hultstrand Collection, Institute for Regional Studies, NDSU, 2028.259)