Section 1: Introduction

North Dakota has four Indian reservations and part of another one that extends upward from South Dakota. The Sisseton Reservation, in the extreme southeast corner of the state, has its headquarters and most of its land in South Dakota; therefore, it is not considered a North Dakota reservation. Members of the Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe occupy this reservation. The reservations of North Dakota are Fort Berthold Reservation, Spirit Lake Nation Reservation, Standing Rock Sioux Reservation, and Turtle Mountain Reservation.

Map showing North Dakota Reservations.

Figure 31. North Dakota Reservations. (SHSND-ND Studies)