Teacher of the Year

Donna Davison, 2018 History Teacher of the Year picture
Donna Davidson

The National History Teacher of the Year is chosen from outstanding history teachers in each state, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories, and DOD schools. The award is sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.

Nominations for the National History Teacher of the Year can be made by a student, colleague, principal or school administrator familiar with the teacher’s work. State winners are awarded $1,000 and each winning school receives an archive of books and other resources.

To nominate a teacher or to learn more about the award, visit The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. If you have questions, you may also contact National History Teacher of the Year coordinator at nhtoy@gilderlehrman.org or 646-366-9666, x28. You may also contact North Dakota’s state coordinator, Neil Howe, at nhowe@nd.gov or 701-205-7802.

Donna Davidson, a teacher at the Center-Stanton Public School, has been named the 2018 North Dakota History Teacher of the Year.

Davidson’s passion for history is exhibited in the classroom each day. According to Davidson, “As a teacher, I have so much to learn to come close to my own ideals of what a great teacher should be because in the end, I don’t really teach history at all. I teach students, and what matters most is reaching these students with the stories of our past in order to empower them to shape our future.”



North Dakota History Teacher of the Year Recipients

2017 Sarah Crossingham Wishek Public School, Wishek
2016 Kelli Issacson LaMoure Public School, LaMoure
2015 Ellen Ista Kindred Elementary School, Kindred
2014 Colin Kloster Fargo North High School, Fargo
2013 Debra Forward Dorothy Moses Elementary School, Bismarck
2012 Kari Hall Williston High School
2011 Janice Harildstad Carrington Elementary School
2010 No Winner  
2009 Brent Jiran Schroeder Middle School, Grand Forks
2008 Keith Thompson A.L. Hagan Middle School, Dickinson
2007 Renae Weisenburger West Elementary School, Grand Forks
2006 Carl Oberholzer Fargo North High School
2005 William Landry Grand Forks Central High School
2004 Jeffrey Stotts Devils Lake High School

Resources On Page

    Keep Up To Date With The Latest News From North Dakota Studies